Slide 2

Let‘s scale all available climate technologies

Only by scaling highly innovative climate tech startups can we still meet the climate targets in time.

Slide 1

Climate Movers Database

Our extensive database offers a detailed overview about Europe’s key researchers in the field of climate technologies.

Slide 3

Green Public Procurement

Climate-neutral procurement by federal, state and local governments offers enormous potential for reducing emissions and building green lead markets.

Slide 1

Energy Resilience Leadership Group

By acting with urgency and innovation, we can decrease dependence on natural gas and move Europe toward a cleaner, resilient, and more secure energy future.


Let‘s scale all availble climate technologies

Only by scaling highly innovative climate tech startups can we still meet the climate targets in time.


Who we are

Our mission

The Tech for Net Zero Alliance is a network of leading climate tech startups, scaleups and investors in Germany and the DACH region. To accelerate the scale-up of breakthrough climate technologies, the alliance focusses on expanding climate tech finance, stimulating market demand, and adopting an enabling regulatory environment.

Given the abundance of technical solutions, talent, and financial resources, we believe achieving the climate targets is a matter of speed, focus, and execution. We need all hands on deck to move faster and turn Europe into a climate tech powerhouse.

As a Climate Tech Think Tank, the Tech for Net Zero Alliance is a reliable partner for policy makers, investors, and founders. In addition, the Tech for Net Zero Alliance supports the Climate Tech ecosystem in Germany, Europe and beyond.

Members

The alliance is a network of founders of climate tech startups as well as venture capital investors with a clear climate focus. The alliance is additionally supported by a network of think tanks, research, science, and the established economy.


News & Articles

Publications

  • EU Climate Tech Manifesto

    Demands of the climate tech ecosystem for European policymakers Europe is at a crossroads: the continent’s economic strength and resilience have been increasingly challenged in recent years. The European Union (EU) must now come up with a clear strategy and smart measures to respond to these challenges. Smart economic policies, market-oriented mechanisms and strategic investments…

    Read article: EU Climate Tech Manifesto
  • Public Credit Guarantees

    How to finance the scaling of breakthrough climate technologies? Many climate tech startups and scaleups struggle to secure the necessary financing for first-of-a-kind (FOAK) facilities – even with existing offtake agreements. Venture capital financing, the most common form of startup finance, is usually not sufficient to meet the investment needs of hardware startups. However, loans…

    Read article: Public Credit Guarantees
  • Green Public Procurement

    Policy paper: “Green Public Procurement – Stimulating climate-neutral demand for a competitive EU net zero economy: A case study of Germany” The public sector awards contracts worth around 500 billion euros a year in Germany alone – equivalent to around 13% of gross domestic product. Such massive purchasing power can be leveraged to reduce greenhouse…

    Read article: Green Public Procurement

Initiatives

The Climate Tech Resources for Founders provide founders with knowledge base on topics such as Offtake Agreements, Grants, First-of-a-Kind (FOAK) and Next-of-a-Kind (NOAK), Lifecycle Analysis (LCA), Climate Tech Business Models, Letters of Intent (LOIs), Techno Economic Analysis (TEA) and our Climate Movers Database. Resources are added on a rolling basis.

Tech for Net Zero provides operational support for Climate Tech Founders and seeks to collect relevant information and guidance for innovators.

The Community of Practice for Industry Heat seeks to drive the decarbonisation of industrial heat with a strategic focus on enhancing energy and climate resilience in Europe. The holistic approach includes the four strategic components (1) industry network, (2) financing solutions, (3) renewable electricity and (4) policy and regulations. 

Tech for Net Zero connects relevant actors in the field of industrial heat to accelerate the
sector’s decarbonisation.

The Energy Resilience Leadership Group (ERLG) is a multi-stakeholder initiative led by Breakthrough Energy and Siemens Energy that brings together corporate CEOs, political leaders, financial institutions, and startups at the technology frontier. The Group was launched at the 2023 Munich Security Conference with the goal to enhance Europe’s energy resilience by rapidly bringing emerging climate technologies to scale.

Tech for Net Zero provides operational support to ERLG and brings the perspective of innovative climate startups to potential partnerships.


Team

Tobias Lechtenfeld

Speaker of Tech for Net Zero and Partner at 1.5°Ventures

Pia Dorfinger

Speaker of Tech for Net Zero and Head of Digital Technologies & Start-up Ecosystem at dena

Julian Joswig

Policy & Climate Alliance Manager of Tech for Net Zero

Alliance Chair

Ann Mettler

Vice President Europe of Breakthrough Energy

Corinna Enders

Chairwoman of the dena Management Board


Powered by
1.5°Ventures and dena

Supported by
Breakthrough Energy

The Tech for Net Zero Alliance was founded in 2021 as a joint initiative by the German Energy Agency (dena) with Breakthrough Energy and 1.5°Ventures. The goal of the alliance is to address existing barriers to the creation, scaling and growth of climate tech startups to facilitate meeting the climate goals. The alliance engages with policymakers, financiers, industry and academia to bring breakthrough climate technologies to market and scale, via faster funding and a better enabling environment.

Slide 2

Verfügbare Klima-Technologien jetzt skalieren

Nur durch die Skalierung innovativer Climate Tech Start-ups lassen sich die Klimaziele noch rechtzeitig erreichen.

Slide 1

Climate Movers Database

Unsere Datenbank gibt einen detaillierten Überblick über die europäische Forschung im Bereich von Klimatechnologien.

Slide 3

Green Public Procurement

Klimaneutrale öffentliche Beschaffung bietet ein enomes Potenzial für Emissionsreduktion und den Aufbau grüner Leitmärkte.

Slide 1

Energy Resilience Leadership Group

Durch Innovation und Klimatechnologien können wir fossile Abhängigkeiten verringern und Europa sauberer, widerstandsfähiger und sicherer machen.


Verfügbare Klimatechnologien jetzt skalieren

Nur mit Hilfe von hochinnovativen Climate Tech Startups kann es noch gelingen, die Klimaziele rechtzeitig zu erreichen.


Wer wir sind

Unsere Mission

Tech for Net Zero ist ein Netzwerk führender Climate Tech Start-ups, Scale-ups und Investoren in Deutschland und der DACH-Region. Um den Einsatz bahnbrechender Klimatechnologien zu beschleunigen, konzentriert sich die Allianz auf eine verbesserte Finanzierung von Klimatechnologien und unterstützt die Stimulierung der Marktnachfrage sowie ein förderliches regulatorisches Umfeld.

Angesichts der Fülle an technischen Lösungen, Talenten und finanziellen Ressourcen glauben wir, dass das Erreichen der Klimaziele eine Frage der Geschwindigkeit, des Fokus und der Umsetzung ist. Wir brauchen alle Hände an Deck, um schneller voranzukommen und Europa zu einem Climate Tech Powerhouse zu machen.

Als Climate Tech Think Tank ist die Tech for Net Zero Allianz ein zuverlässiger Partner für Politik, Investoren und Gründer. Die Tech for Net Zero Allianz unterstützt dabei das Climate Tech Ökosystem in Deutschland, Europa und darüber hinaus.

Mitglieder

Die Allianz ist ein Netzwerk aus Gründerinnen und Gründern sowie Venture Capital Investoren mit einem klaren Klima-Fokus. Unterstützt wird die Allianz zusätzlich von einen Netzwerk aus Think Tanks, Forschung, Wissenschaft, und der etablierten Wirtschaft.


Neuigkeiten & Artikel

Veröffentlichungen

  • EU Climate Tech Manifesto

    Forderungen des Climate Tech-Ökosystems an die Europäische Politik Europa befindet sich an einem Scheideweg: Die wirtschaftliche Stärke und Widerstandsfähigkeit des Kontinents wurden in den letzten Jahren zunehmend herausgefordert. Die Europäische Union (EU) muss nun ein kluges Maßnahmenpaket vorlegen, um auf diese Herausforderungen zu reagieren. Eine kluge Wirtschaftspolitik, marktorientierte Mechanismen und strategische Investitionen in Klimatechnologien sind…

    Mehr erfahren: EU Climate Tech Manifesto
  • Öffentliche Kreditgarantien

    Wie lässt sich die Skalierung von Klimatechnologien finanzieren? Viele Climate Tech Start-ups und Scale-ups mit bahnbrechenden Hardware-Technologien haben Schwierigkeiten, die benötigte Finanzierung für geplante Produktionsanlagen zu sichern – selbst bei vorhandenen Abnahmeverträgen. Die bei Start-ups sonst übliche Finanzierung über Venture Capital reicht häufig nicht für die hohen Investitionen von Hardware-Start-ups aus. Kredite stehen den oft…

    Mehr erfahren: Öffentliche Kreditgarantien
  • Klimaneutrale öffentliche Beschaffung

    Positionspapier: „Green Public Procurement: Klimaneutrale Beschaffung durch Bund, Länder und Kommunen“ Die öffentliche Hand vergibt im Jahr Aufträge für rund 500 Milliarden Euro – das entspricht rund 13 % des Bruttoinlandsprodukts. Diese erhebliche Nachfragemacht lässt sich bewusst nutzen, um schädliche Treibhausgasemissionen zu reduzieren und die Markteinführung innovativer klimafreundlicher Produkte und Technologien gezielt zu unterstützen. Der…

    Mehr erfahren: Klimaneutrale öffentliche Beschaffung

Initiativen

Die Climate Tech Resources for Founders bieten Gründern eine Wissensbasis zu Themen wie Offtake Agreements, Frants, First-of-a-Kind (FOAK) und Next-of-a-Kind (NOAK), Lebenszyklusanalysen (LCA), Climate Tech Business Models, Letters of Intent (LOIs), Techno Economic Analysis (TEA) und Zugang zu unserer Climate Movers Database. Die Ressourcen werden laufend aktualisiert.

Tech for Net Zero bietet operative Unterstützung für Climate Tech Founders und versucht, relevante Informationen und Anleitungen für Innovatoren zu sammeln.

Die Community of Practice for Industry Heat soll die Dekarbonisierung der industriellen Wärme vorantreiben und dabei den strategischen Schwerpunkt auf die Verbesserung der Energie- und Klimaresilienz in Europa legen. Der ganzheitliche Ansatz umfasst die vier strategischen Komponente (1) Industrienetzwerk, (2) Finanzierungslösungen, (3) erneuerbarer Strom und (4) Politik und Regulatorik.

Tech for Net Zero bringt die relevanten Akteure im Bereich der industriellen Wärme zusammen, um die Dekarbonisierung des Sektors zu beschleunigen.

Die Energy Resilience Leadership Group (ERLG) ist eine Multi-Stakeholder-Initiative unter der Leitung von Breakthrough Energy und Siemens Energy, die Vorstandsvorsitzende von Unternehmen, politische Entscheidungsträger, Finanzinstitute und Start-mit innovativen Klimatechnologien zusammenbringt. Die Gruppe wurde auf der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz 2023 mit dem Ziel ins Leben gerufen, die Widerstandsfähigkeit Europas im Energiebereich zu verbessern, indem sie aufstrebende Klimatechnologien rasch zur Marktreife bringt.

Die Tech for Net Zero Allianz unterstützt die ERLG operativ und bringt die Perspektive von innovativen Klima-Start-ups für potenzielle Partnerschaften ein.


Team

Tobias Lechtenfeld

Executive Director und Sprecher von
Tech for Net Zero und Partner bei 1.5°Ventures

Pia Dorfinger

Sprecherin von Tech for Net Zero und Leiterin Arbeitsbereich Digitale Technologien & Start-up Ökosystem bei der dena

Julian Joswig

Policy & Climate Alliance Manager
von Tech for Net Zero

Vorsitz

Ann Mettler

Vizepräsidentin Europa bei Breakthrough Energy

Corinna Enders

Vorsitzende der dena-Geschäftsführung


Angetrieben von
1.5°Ventures und dena

Unterstützt durch
Breakthrough Energy

Die Tech for Net Zero Allianz wurde 2021 als gemeinsame Initiative von der deutschen Energie Agentur (dena) mit Breakthrough Energy und 1.5°Ventures gegründet. Ziel der Allianz ist es, bestehende Barrieren bei der Gründung, der Skalierung und dem Wachstum von Climate Tech Start-ups zu beheben, so dass die Klimaziele erreicht werden können. Dazu steht die Allianz im Austausch mit der Politik, der Finanzwirtschaft, der Industrie und der Wissenschaft, um über schnellere Finanzierung und bessere Rahmenbedingungen bahnbrechende Klimatechnologien in den Markt zu bringen und zu skalieren.